Messi and Ribery lose out to Ronaldo in Ballon d’Or award

ronaldo wins fifa ballon d or

Cristiano Ronaldo wins the FIFA Ballon d’Or award

Cristiano Ronaldo has been awarded the coveted FIFA Ballon d’Or award after a string of fantastic performances in 2013. The Portuguese international held off stiff competition from Bayern Munich’s Franck Ríbery and Barça’s own Lionel Messi to win the award for a second time.

The last time Ronaldo picked up the award was in 2008 whilst playing for Manchester United. Ronaldo managed to net 66 goals in 56 games for both club and country last year, including five hat-tricks.

Although both Messi and Ríbery have won league titles with their respective teams last season, Ronaldo has shone brightest, particularly in the last third of the season for his club and country. The Real Madrid player once again showed remarkable consistency in his relentless pursuit of perfection.

Ex Bayern Munich coach Jupp Heynckes was named FIFA men’s football Coach of the Year with Silvia Neid picking up the women’s award. Brazilian legend Pele was given an honorary award, and the Women’s Ballon d’Or went to Nadine Angerer.

The FIFA XI of the year was the following: Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Thiago Silva, Sergio Ramos, Philipp Lahm, Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Franck Ribery, Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Lionel Messi.

No Premier League players were picked for this year’s FIFA XI. Swedish captain Zlatan Ibrahimovic won the Puskas Award for best goal – his superb overhead kick against England.

About Aaron

My name's Aaron and I'm a great Barça fan. I like to tell it like it is and if there is something I don't like about the club or something that needs addressing, you'll know!



    Give it the thumbs up in Messi and Franck Ríbery have been pipped to the post by Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo at this year’s FIFA Ballon d’Or award. Ronaldo had to shrug off fierce pressure from both Messi and Ríbery who also had good sea.…